Arriving at last

NavCam_animation_6_August_node_full_image_2

Arriving at comet 67P/C-G. Credits: ESA/Rosetta/Navcam

This animation comprises 101 images acquired by the Navigation Camera on board ESA’s Rosetta spacecraft as it approached comet 67P/C-G in August 2014.

The first image was taken on 1 August at 11:07 UTC (12:07 CEST), at a distance of 832 km. The last image was taken 6 August at 06:07 UTC (08:07 CEST) at a distance of 110 km.

More about Rosetta’s renvezvous and the latest images here.

Comments

8 Comments

  • Kevin says:

    Great animated overview of last week! Love all the details that we can already see on the nucleus its surface.
    And what zoomed passed it, leaving a streak of light, after 12 frames in the animation?

  • David Williams says:

    That really looked like a meteorite, but of course there is no atmosphere to create friction !?

    • Alan Fitzsimmons says:

      Looks like a cosmic ray hit ion the detector that escaped cleaning in the processing.

  • Limax7 says:

    Can I please for model of comet 67P in 3ds format ? I see in LIVE webcast of your model of comet and it’s very good!

  • Orion-1615 says:

    This would be an awesome mission in Kerbal Space Program as well.

  • Mike Alcock says:

    You’ve now got to get ducks with rosetta and esa printed on them :o)

  • Errol Coder says:

    The tumbling is very interesting. Nice to see the wobbling of its rotation as it tumbles through space.

Comments are closed.